An extension for Sell Media S3

A secure, durable and highly-scalable cloud storage solution for your precious file uploads.

See Pricing
Amazon S3 settings page.

The Amazon S3 extension for Sell Media provides secure, durable and highly-scalable cloud storage for your precious file uploads. It protects your original high-resolution files so that they cannot be downloaded by thieves. This extension brings enterprise-level cloud storage capabilities to single WordPress installs.
Once activated, all uploads will be served from your own private Amazon S3 cloud account.

Amazon S3 is trusted by media companies like Netflix, Pinterest, Smugmug and tens of thousands of other small and large businesses. Learn more about Amazon S3.

How does it work?

After properly configuring your Amazon S3 account and the S3 extension (see Initial Setup below), all newly uploaded files using Sell Media will be stored in your Amazon S3 bucket of choice. Both original size images and intermediate size images (low resolution versions generated by WordPress from your Settings -> Media sizes) are uploaded to your Amazon S3 bucket. Original images are saved without public access (private); intermediate image sizes have public access and are displayed on your website. When a customer purchases from your website, Sell Media grabs this original high resolution file from Amazon S3 and dynamically generates the right files size for the customer.

Note: Only newly uploaded files are uploaded to Amazon S3. Activating this plugin does not move previous uploads to Amazon S3. Similarly, deactivating the plugin does not move files back onto your server.

Starting in version 2.0, no local files are stored on your server.

Screenshots

Initial Setup

In order to use this extension, you must:

  1. Sign up for an Amazon S3 account.
  2. Create an IAM user or group with “Full Access” to your Amazon S3 account.
  3. Save the Security Credentials (Access Key ID and Secret Access Key) for your IAM user.
  4. Edit the Permissions of the user or group and assign the “AmazonS3FullAccess” policy.
  5. Create a Bucket in your Amazon S3 account. Set and save the Region endpoint.
  6. Log into your WordPress website.
  7. Upload and activate the Amazon S3 extension for Sell Media
  8. Visit Sell Media -> Settings -> Misc -> Amazon S3 and fill in your Access Key IDSecret Access Key, and Region. Click Save.
  9. Scroll back down to the Amazon S3 setting and now select the Bucket from the selectbox.

FAQ

Where are my uploaded files stored?

All uploaded files will be stored in your Amazon S3 bucket that you selected on Dashboard > Sell Media > Settings > Misc > Amazon S3 > Bucket. Both original size images and thumbnail size images are uploaded to your Amazon S3 bucket.

Note: Only newly uploaded files are uploaded to Amazon S3. Activating this plugin does not move previous uploads. Also, deactivating the plugin doesn’t move files back onto your server.

How to I access my files in Amazon S3?

You can either use the Amazon S3 web app or you can download free desktop software like 3Hub (Mac) or S3 Browser (PC).

What is a “bucket” and how do I create one?

A bucket is simply Amazon lingo for “folder”. I’m sure there are technical reasons why Amazon distinguishes between the two, but for average users, just think of buckets as folders. Each bucket is folder that contains stuff that you want to store in your Amazon S3 cloud storage account.

You can create a new bucket by logging into the Amazon S3 web app and click the “Create Bucket” button.

Will this upload files that I’ve previously uploaded into WordPress?

No. Once you activate Amazon S3, any new files that you upload will be sent to your Amazon S3 account.

If I need to regenerate my thumbnail images using Regenerate Thumbnails plugin will my new thumbnail images be uploaded to Amazon S3?

Yes. New image sizes will be generated, uploaded and stored in your Amazon S3 bucket.

Now are my original files protected in my Amazon S3 account?

Amazon S3 has three different permission levels for each file added to the account: Read/Write, Read, and None. The original, high-resolution file has a permission level of “None”. Only you, the account owner, can access it. When a customer purchases from your website, Sell Media grabs this original high resolution file using the security credentials your supplied in step 4 above and dynamically generates the right files size for the customer. Lower resolution files (the files that are displayed on your website) have “Read” access.

 

Plugin released on May 13th, 2015